23 March 2021

After a year of absence, Dwars door Vlaanderen is back on the programme on Wednesday 31 March. It promises to be a great edition with many top riders at the start in Roeselare. Who will succeed Mathieu van der Poel in Waregem in the 75th edition? Below you can find the provisional start list.

The Belgian Deceuninck - Quick-Step formation will have a strong group at the start. Besides Yves Lampaert, two-time winner of Dwars door Vlaanderen, world champion Alaphilippe, Stybar and Asgreen are also part of the team. They will compete with Alpecin-Fenix. That team is counting on Belgian champion De Bondt as well as defending champion Mathieu van der Poel and the fast legs of Philipsen and Merlier.  

INEOS Grenadiers also brings a powerful team to the start in Roeselare with Kwiatkowski and Pidcock as leaders. The assets Trek-Segafredo is bringing to Roeselare are the strong legs of Pedersen, Stuyven and Theuns. Bora-hansgrohe is counting on the Politt-Ackermann duo. At UAE Team Emirates Trentin and Kristoff are joining forces.  

Alberto Bettiol (EF Education - Nippo), Michael Matthews (Team BikeExchange) and Alexey Lutsenko (Astana - Premier Tech) are also looking to be the first to cross the line in Waregem. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain Victorious), Sep Vanmarcke (Israel Start-Up Nation), Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) and Tiesj Benoot (Team DSM) make for a great number of Belgian favourites at the start in Roeselare. The latter will be at the start, together with S. Kragh Andersen.

Besides classic types, there are also some fast legs at the start in Dwars door Vlaanderen. Cofidis is counting on Viviani's sprinting abilities. The French formation has an ex-winner in the team with Jelle Wallays. At Groupama-FDJ Démare is the sprinter on duty, but with Küng the team has a second iron in the fire. Team Qhubeka ASSOS hopes for a nice performance of the duo Campenaerts - Nizzolò.   

Among the ProTeams, we find some former winners. Jens Debusschere (B&B Hotels P/B KTM) won Dwars door Vlaanderen in 2016. Total Direct Energie has a co-record holder in their team with two-time winner Niki Terpstra. The Dutchman will be joined by the experienced Boasson Hagen and Turgis, runner-up in 2019, as teammates.

On 31 March, we will find out who gets to make the victory gesture on the Verbindingsweg in Waregem and thus succeed Mathieu van der Poel.

Related news